Skip to content

Are we alone in the universe? I say yes — what do you think?

March 8, 2010

Paul Davies

I’ve never quite understood the mania for finding intelligent life in the universe, either out among the stars or here at home, with little gray men abducting innocent humans for intrusive and somewhat dirty (in the sexual sense) experimentation. An advanced civilization is more likey to colonize and enslave, isn’t it, than to bring us salvation, technological or otherwise?

At least that’s what human history on earth suggests. I can think of no instance in which a less advanced society survived contact with a more advanced one. Why would earth as a whole escape such a fate? If I’m right, then contact with alien intelligence is going to be more Independence Day than E.T.

These bloody minded ruminations arise in response to an alternately infuriating and fascinating  London Times review of a new book by American cosmologist Paul Davies, entitled The Eerie Silence: Renewing Our Search for Alien Intelligence (which will be published in the U.S. in April).

First, let’s dispense with the most irritating bit of Martin Rees’s review: Why do some writers take every opportunity, however thin, to slag religion and faith? Rees, drawing on Davies, snidely remarks that detection of alien life would “force some theologians into intellectual contortions.”

What’s most offensive about this statement is its smug tone, as though such “theologians” are not only already discredited but have it coming. In fact, alien life, let alone intelligence, is far from a given at this point. Besides that, theology, faith, religion, what have you, has already proven infinitely pliable in the face of scientific discovery.

Furthermore, regardless of the existence of God, human beings require faith, as surely as we require companionship, community and mother love. No amount of future scientific discoveries will alter that basic need.

And yet those, like Rees and Davies, who mock the gnat of religion gladly swallow the camels of such preposterous ideas as “quantum minds floating in the emptiness of intergalactic space, super-cyborgs commandeering comets, or brains hugging spinning black holes.” Oh, please.

First, there’s less evidence for this kind of alien intelligence than there is for the Resurrection of Christ, Buddha’s enlightenment or Muhammad’s visitations from the angel Gabriel. Second, any such beings would, as far as humanity is concerned, be indistinguishable from gods.

None of this is to suggest that Rees’s review, or Davies’ book, are not worth reading. On the contrary. Both provide illumination into the central question of whether the universe teems with life, or whether life on earth is a unique (or at least very rare) accident.

The argument for a teeming universe goes like this: The cosmos is so vast, filled with stars–many of them, we now know by direct observation, surrounded by planets. Conditions for the development of life must therefore be relatively common. Life is the universe’s default setting.

The argument against is best summed up in the words of the great physicist Enrico Fermi: “Why aren’t the aliens here?” Many of the detectable stars are billions of years older than our own, suggesting that life originating on their planets should have reached a fantastically advanced level of technology.

It seems to me we are probably alone in the universe, life on earth a pure accident unrepeated elsewhere. Until we have concrete evidence otherwise, I strongly suggest we behave as though this is true. Right now, we’re using up the planet like we can just toss it away and move on to another one.

But I’m sure plenty of people out there can explain to me why exactly the universe is just filled to the top with intelligent, and what’s more, benevolent life just itching to swoop down and save us from ourselves. Right?

60 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    March 8, 2010 1:10 pm

    But why should we learn from our abuse of the planet any more than we’ve learned from our abuse of other human beings or, for that matter, ourselves? It seems to me that the need to believe in intelligent life elsewhere in the cosmos bears a striking resemblance to the religious beliefs Rees and Davies deride. We just don’t want to be alone.

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 8, 2010 2:00 pm

      If you are correct, and we are unable to learn from our mistakes, then the entire question is based on a false premise: No intelligent life exists in the universe, including us. You are right about belief in intelligent life elsewhere arising from the religious beliefs derided by Rees and Davies. Science and religion have more in common than either wishes to admit.

  2. March 8, 2010 1:28 pm

    As far as I know they have recently discoverd a couple million universes out their. Some similar to ours. They also have projects built thousands of years ago that some experts agree where done by creatures other than on earth. I just think it is very short, short thinking that we are the only ones. Is that the God theory? We are the chosen ones / Are we an accident? Could be. Then their could be others.

    I think they have come, for years. They pretty much know what we are about. Probably a bit confused to how we treat each other. Why come back. It is like going to the moon over and over. Some may be more advanced. Some less and can not get here. Remember we have gone to the moon. We still can not send man to the bottom of the sea. Religious people usually have problems with infinity. They need definition and boundry’s to explain life and death. Nothing wrong with that.

    As Mayor of PurpleUmpkin I take exception. We are a small planet next to Pluto. We move in a different time warp until we want to be seen. That is why we have no McDonalds or Dunkin Dounuts here. I am an alien. (please do not tell Lou Dobbs) Chauncey I am sorry you are alone. Just walk this way smile. For you are about to enter the twilight zone. Durdurdurdura.

  3. Chauncey Mabe permalink*
    March 8, 2010 2:05 pm

    The ancient astronaut hypothesis, made famous by Erich Von Daniken, is ridiculous to an extreme degree. It is deeply anti-human, holding our species in contempt. The fact is, ancient humans were just as savvy and intelligent as we are today, capable of amazing feats of science and engineering, including the Pyramids and other antique wonders. The assistance of ancient astronauts was not needed.

    • Inga Greenstrom permalink
      March 22, 2011 1:22 pm

      This morning, Fraeaese, Nikke, Agneta and I ventured out of Elysion Acres wearing just our new “Thank-You-Brittney”-t-shirts. As always we disobeyed the “No-
      Bare-Feet” sign at McDonald.s, ordered breakfast and
      sat down at a table once again exposing our four
      pussies, and only three or for people noticed, and
      another chick goes like, if I did this my mom would
      ground me, and Nikke goes like, I bet your mom would
      love to expose her pussy here, why don.t you bring
      her along next time, but she goes like, I don.t think
      so, and she takes another look at our pussies and then she leaves.

      • Billy Ledbetter permalink
        July 14, 2012 8:03 am

        Inga, you have the intelligence of a parasite…

  4. Candice permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:12 pm

    We are not alone. I believe.

    • alexis permalink
      March 8, 2010 2:51 pm

      The Truth is Out There.

      • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
        March 8, 2010 4:11 pm

        Trust no one. I want to believe.

    • Billy Ledbetter permalink
      July 14, 2012 8:29 am

      I agree, Candice. Paul, what I see is you being smug in your comments about Rees and Davies. To believe we are the only planet in this vast universe with living beings like us humans, is egotistical and pious. We are a mere flicker of dust in the universe. You make a mockery of “quantum minds floating around in the universe” … you state that there is more evidence for the resurrection of Christ than alien intelligence, yet you give no references to such. First, you have to have an open mind to the possibility of other dimensions, which you obviously think is ridiculous by your “smug” statements. Really, there is nothing to discuss here with you because you have your narrow mind made up that we are the “center of the universe.”

      “First, there’s less evidence for this kind of alien intelligence than for the Resurrection of Christ…”

      First of all, I noticed you capitalized “resurrection” of Christ but not Buddha’s “enlightenment.” A subtlety not to be dismissed. Secondly, give some documentation that there is less evidence for alien intelligence than for the “Resurrection” of Christ.

      Really not sure why I’m wasting my time writing this. I read carefully your entire blog here, and your “argument” falls way short of intelligent thinking.

      Enough said.

  5. Chauncey Mabe permalink*
    March 8, 2010 2:23 pm

    Yes, so do most people. I hope someone will write in to make the argument for a teeming universe.

    • Inga Greenstrom permalink
      March 22, 2011 1:24 pm

      Thanks for standing up for us blond beauties from Sweden. We knew all along that we are very close
      to what G’d had in mind when He created gorgeous
      blondes in our native Sweden, and nobody but nobody
      comes close to our good looks. Nikke-girl for instance
      might be a fucking slut like the rest of us, but her
      black hair reveals that she.s just not in the same ballpark as Greta, Agneta, Fraeaaese, Oeoese, Harke,
      Sigga and the rest of us beautiful Swedes, and from what you tell us, Blue Eyed Blonde Bombshell, you seem
      to be even more adorable than all of us. So keep up the good fight and let the rest of those ugly non-
      blondes fall by the wayside, into the menurepit where
      they belong.

      • STM permalink
        March 22, 2011 1:32 pm

        I’m blond and I’m an absolute airhead. No two ways about it … there HAS to be a correlation.

        I even used to dye it a bit darker when I was younger so that people wouldn’t know, and would take me seriously, but then you end up with a white stripe down the middle of your head like a GT racer, and because I’m a surfer the dye used to go eventually and the sun would bleach it back to blond, so it would be streaky and the tips would always be blond anyway.

        Great look, that. Also, putting a darker dye through my hair didn’t make me any smarter or appear any more serious (while girls always wanted to go out with me, I had a hard time convincing any of them I’d make a good husband) so in the end I just caved in to the inevitable …

        It’s now white, and still getting the shit bleached out of it by the sun & surf.

        What can a(n old) boy do?

        (Here’s a trick though: On my way to work, I often simply pull in to the local service station, and after filling up with petrol, stick the air hose into my ear and pump some more compressed into my head. Because in reality, I secretly love being blond!)

      • Billy Ledbetter permalink
        July 14, 2012 8:31 am

        Inga, you really should think about finding an inpatient drug treatment center and backing off the crack, babe. You need help🙂

  6. March 8, 2010 2:41 pm

    Chauncey, you know I get all excited when you talk this way! And yeee-e-eesh, these comments.

    I recently saw the Ben Stein documentary (Expelled?) and was blown away by the closing interview with Richard Dawkins. The scientist is asked by the comedian about what happened before the big bang and when the comedian kept pressing, the slightly perturbed scientist suggested in all seriousness that perhaps an alien race brought life to this planet. Really? Who is the comedian and who the scientist?

    I do think I will take issue with the idea that belief in alien life is in any way contributing to the thought that we can burn up this planet’s natural resources and then move on to a new planet. Do people really believe that? Mismanaging the environment comes from our selfishness and shortsightedness and sometimes from bad theology (the kind of comments erroneously attributed to Reagan’s Secretary of the Interior James Watt about the return of Christ; he didn’t say that stuff but others have said similar things.)

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 8, 2010 4:30 pm

      Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris and their ilk have done more to set back the cause of atheism than all the preachers in all the suburban megachurches in this great nation of ours. Their spiteful disrespect of those they disagree with does them no honor, I can tell you. As I said, whether there is a God or not, human beings require faith. Dawkins can wish that away all he wants, but it won’t make a bit of difference.

      • STM permalink
        March 22, 2011 1:33 pm

        Haven’t I read this before? Yes, I’m blond too, and my hair’s long for a bloke. I’m also an airhead and a surfer so there has to be a correlation between all these things.

        Blond/blonde is good, but hair down to the floor is a worry, especially during a big night at the pub.

        However, it could come in very handy if lived in a tower and needed a handsome young prince to climb up and rescue you.

        Which counts me out. I ain’t young.

  7. March 8, 2010 2:45 pm

    I projects I am talking about can not be answered by even the best engineering. The people in the past here were very great engineers. It is hard to see how they did it. They did. They have discovered some other projects that seem to be engineered from the sky. I was very curious and not convinced . I now am shaking my head on a couple. I just think the universe is so big that some type of life has to be there just by using probability and statistics. It is like finding a new fish or life form in the ocean. I just got a call, Chauncey has been sent here by them to make us believe that they are not here. The old. double razzile dazzile. I have never seen Chauncey and Rod Sterling together at the same time. A lot of people with a ton of information each way will still not believe what the other is saying.

  8. Chauncey Mabe permalink*
    March 8, 2010 5:00 pm

    The universe is so big that some type of life has to be there just as a function of probability — that’s a popular line of thinking, and I have no real way to refute it. But I repeat: We have no evidence of life elsewhere in the universe, at least not to date, and until we do I’m going with this hunch that we are alone.

    But even if there is life out there, the very bigness of the universe makes it almost impossible for us to ever shake hands with it. The speed of light and other physical limitations seem to be insurmountable barriers to anything more than relatively local space travel.

  9. Dee Bishoff permalink
    March 8, 2010 7:01 pm

    There must be life out there, there were UFO’s seen around my beautiful hometown of Wytheville Va, probably looking for another place to live. Proves they are not only out there but intelligent beings also!!

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 8, 2010 11:06 pm

      Sssshhh. Let’s not say too much about Wytheville. It’s an undiscovered paradise, and let’s do our best to keep it that way.

  10. March 8, 2010 9:58 pm

    They’re here. The aliens. Absolutely. Lots of life out there. Always was. I think you’ll live long enough to meet some of them if you haven’t already. I’ll bet you a bookcase full of celebrity bios.

  11. Chauncey Mabe permalink*
    March 8, 2010 11:06 pm

    I’ll take your bet, but not your terms. What you got besides a bookcase of celebrity bios?

  12. March 9, 2010 8:07 am

    I think at this point and time we are alone in this universe. (please leave PurpleUmpkin alone). It is possible in time where a billion years or so ago we may have had other life here. That is what Nasa is looking for. I do feel that in the other universes, it would not make sense of no life there. . I do agree about time travel. It is tough to get here. Some science people say we never went to the moon. That there was a radiation belt that kept the Russians from going but not us. I think we went.
    I have found that if you do not believe and are a person that does not. We could bring in a space ship, a body, a map and a tape recorder from another planet and that person would not believe. Just would not. I think both theories are great. I am a bit surprised Chauncey you do not. That is like the right wing does not think any one else is American but them. Oh now I know. You are from outer space sent here to convince us you do not exist. You say you are a liberal but really a right winger in wolfs skin. You got to get up pretty early to fool me. For I am a fool that stays up all night.

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 9, 2010 11:26 am

      I assure you I am a simple man, clear as glass, exactly what I seem to be, and meaning exactly what I seem to say. Until, of course, I change my mind.

  13. John Karwacki permalink
    March 9, 2010 9:21 am

    I love opinions. They lead to experiences. I met a few aliens in New Orleans in the 80’s when under the influence of hallucinogens, they were fair-weather friends at best, and not no intelligent as they pretended to be. I enjoy looking at pictures taken by the hubble telecope. There are galaxies that look like eyes and nebulas that look like pieces of cells of living tissue. Worlds within worlds man, takes me back to stoner conversations of days gone by. I say believe what you want as long as you don’t hurt yourself or others like the creeps that off themselves trying to hitch a ride on a comet, or scientologists (oh no he didn’t!) Oh, yes I did. Be good to yourself and be good to your neighbor, he may be an insect from ALph Centuri with a long memory.

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 9, 2010 12:03 pm

      John — “He may be an insect from Alpha Centauri with a long memory” — excellent, my friend, excellent. To paraphrase the book of Hebrews, “Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained aliens unawares.” Aliens, angels — where to draw the line? Who knows. As for Scientology, it sounds like someone needs an “Audit.”

  14. Candice permalink
    March 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    My local Congressman is an alien. I know it. He’s got the orb head and the saucer looking eyes. Got to be. And he’s friendly.

    • alexis permalink
      March 9, 2010 1:51 pm

      Well, then perhaps there is a case for the benevolent visitors.

      • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
        March 9, 2010 11:59 pm

        If he’s a politician, then how benevolent can he be?!?

  15. Chauncey Mabe permalink*
    March 9, 2010 1:58 pm

    Well, as I’m sure you know, there was a book a few years ago that divided political operatives into Vulcans and Klingons, and I don’t know, probably Romulans, Ferengi and Cardassians ( I almost wrote Kardashians, which would have been a mistake but not necessarily wrong). Obama is a Vulcan, if I recall correctly. No doubt Cheney is a Klingon, Rham Emmanuel is a Romulan, Karl Rove a Ferengi, and Gen. Petraeus a Cardassian.

    So I have no doubt your Congressman is from another planet. None of the Washington politicos seem to live on the same world as the rest of us.

    • Candice permalink
      March 9, 2010 2:43 pm

      Good thing about having an alien representing our area is that we intergalatic pull.

      • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
        March 10, 2010 12:00 am

        Does that mean you can get universal health care?

  16. March 9, 2010 2:22 pm

    If you ever become an alien, I think you will be a dam good one.

    • Chauncey Mabe permalink*
      March 9, 2010 11:59 pm

      Alien, not so sure. Alienated? You bet.

  17. March 10, 2010 3:08 pm

    Are you legally alienated? Do not want Dobbsey on you.

  18. Eric Matias permalink
    May 26, 2010 4:49 am

    We must be alone. We’ve always speculated that there must be a advance super race that one day we’ll make contact with, but why would they? The theory of the creation of everything insists that the big bang created the entire universe. So all of the 10 thousand billion billion of stars were originated at the same
    point in time… Thus the earth was
    a molten rock that slowly cooled.. As the rest of the other newly formed objects in the universe. What compells people to believe that we are not alone? There are only a few elements that exist in the universe. Very few that by a stroke of luck created human beings.

    If there was any other life out there it must be made if similar structure that earth things are made out of. Even accepting that idea of the universe’s compounds making another being out of anothers planets premordial ooze is ridiculous. If they’re is any kind of life why jump the gun saying they must be a advance race of beings.

    If there were aliens why would they be that much different?? If anything they would be a advanced animal or something similar to
    life on earth. Why would they be Anvanced. Was they’re goop smarter than our goop.

    If you still think something else would be out there what would it be?! A volcanic creature with lava in it’s veins? A gas like creature floating around? For advance life to exist there must be a different kind of element out there? And that’s a stretch… We got lucky were even here. Lets not get crazy and say that some kind of advance life is out there when everything got it’s start at the same time. We are alone and will Be alone

    • Billy Ledbetter permalink
      July 14, 2012 8:42 am

      Why would you believe we are alone? Because of the vast knowledge you have of the universe? If you have your mind made up that we’re alone, that’s all you’ll ever see. We are spiritual beings living in human bodies, full of our egos, slumbering in our pious opinions and beliefs that we are alone in this universe. “Why aren’t they here then?” you guys ask. They are. We’re just too dumb to see through the veil of our dense vibration we’ve created on this earth to see them.

    • Bill Desmond permalink
      November 14, 2012 9:01 pm

      Eric: I think you’re right, but I think as well that we will never know- the distances and the time being so vast. Given that, and the incredibly remote chance of intelligent life conscious and aware of itself, and at this point in time, the almost unfathomable hostile nature of space and the universe, we are to all intents and purposes, completely alone.

      It should make us realize how precious the earth is, how unique life is in the universe, and fragile our hold on it is. We’re not doing a very good job at all of taking care of the only home we have and ever will have.

  19. July 24, 2010 3:08 pm

    Oh, really.

    Ok so let me just get into my super fast spaceship and take a look at every star system, it should take me … 1000000 gazillion years to check and my ship is the “Heart of gold” which has the infinite probability drive.

    joking aside, I mean really, unless someone can check every planet in the universe and take pictures and show me that the universe is just full of dead rocks and gas giants, I will still believe; NO; I will still be SURE that the universe is a universe of life, a universe of cycles, and renewal and beauty and diversity, be silent oh ye of little faith and closed minds.

    And do you know what the people that said that man can’t fly can hear now… WOSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, as amazing flying machines streak over there thick heads.

  20. Ryan S permalink
    August 3, 2010 1:28 am

    We are not alone. Distance separates us from the others. In a way, we could be lucky.

    Sometimes I think about the size of the universe, and worry we are insignificant. We are not capable of understanding the universe and how it was made, just as a dog is not capable of understand the automobile and how it was made. He wouldn’t understand it even if you explained it to him, like us with the universe.

    I believe there is life out there far more advanced and complex than we are. We are all but king of an ant hill.

    Being human is frustrating, because we’re smart enough to know there’s something bigger than all of us, but not smart enough to figure it out. I don’t believe in the big bang, and I don’t believe in religion.

    If we are indeed just machines that function only because of our brain, then I guess we’ll never have to worry about any of it any way once we die. In a sad way this conforts me.

    • Bill Desmond permalink
      November 14, 2012 9:07 pm

      Well, seeing how we treat ants, and even species very much like our own- the apes- you’d better hope no one knows we’re here or ever finds out.
      But there is no more proof of life “out there” than there is of no life out there. Its just that the probability of life elsewhere is remote, given the conditions necessary, and the possibility of intelligent life, conscious and aware are so remote, and the distances so vast, and the time so immense, that we are for practical purposes, alone.
      But you can believe what you like, no harm.
      And I agree with your view on religion- its superstitious nonsense that we need to put behind us if we are going to survive as a species.

  21. joe permalink
    September 26, 2010 8:19 pm

    i do not believe we are the only life form the universes is said to have no end i don’t think only 1 of millions of planets has life forms i do not believe that they are visiting us but i do believe that they are out there are they more advanced i don’t know but i don’t think so its just hard to believe that earth has the only life forms even if other planets have Bactria insects or some form of plant life toughs are all considered life forms planets with water have or had life forms even moss is considered a life form when people read this comment just think earth 1 of the smaller planets contains life we have looked on other planets haven’t seen anything that can be considered life but really we haven’t even searched 0.0000001% of the universe it feels like to me that we looked at a small fraction and now we believe there is nothing out there if you read a book 1 book and say i don’t like it does that mean you wont like any others? no you need to keep searching i know using that as an example is not the best way to prove what i am saying but that’s all i have time to wright thank you for spending your time reading this i vary much appreciate it

  22. 123123 permalink
    December 31, 2010 9:26 am

    IMHO No. We are not alone in the Universe. For me it is only a matter of time before we discover Extraterrestrial life even microbial life on other planets or moons will have a big impact on how we view life in the Universe. Considering the age of the Universe, the number of stars with planets that lies within the habitable zone that are not yet discovered, and the number of galaxies there is plenty of time for life to develop not only here on Earth but other planets as well or even moons.

    • Bill Desmond permalink
      November 14, 2012 9:11 pm

      Bacterial or microbial life- perhaps- its a possibility, though not a probability, given the conditions necessary for life.
      Intelligent, conscious and aware life in sentient beings, with language, art, culture, emotion, love? Not probable- Not likely at all- in fact, so remote a possibility with regards to the odds against as to be statistcally meaningless.
      And given the time and distances involved between stars and galaxies, we will never know.

  23. I bet the fucktard who wrote this also thinks the earth is flat permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:28 pm

    you sir(the dumbfuck whow rote this article) are a complete fucking dumbass as is anyone who thinks we’re alone in the universe. No matter how much religious fucktards like you want to believe there is absolutely nothing speciakl or unique at all about the earth or life on it and in fact earth is probably inferior to many planets. Also just look at pictures of our moon, Mars and Titan and you will see obvious signs of life and obvious evidence of past intelligence civilization not to mention many very credible and believable uUFO sightings and the fact that no amtter how much you wanna deny it that it was impossible for stone age humans to build things like the Great Pyarmid, Puma Punku, etc.. But of course dumbasses like you will deny it because you want so badly to believe that the universe revolves around the earth that your god(which BTW does not exist) intended for earth to be the only planet with life. Let me guess you also believe that the earth as well as the universe is only 6000 years old and that the earth was made in 7 days that the earth is flat and that an ark just a few hundred feet ould hold 2 of each animal in the world. Get over it and just admit the fact that your religion is nothing but a bunch of bullshit and the bullshit about the earth being some special and unique place that the universe revolves around and being the only place with life is nothing but a bunch of untrue bullshit. Now do the world and the universe a favor and find a cliff or building and jumnp off it. You won’t be missed along with the other religious fuckheads who think we’re alone in the universe. You won’t be missed. The world and the universe are better off without worthless religious fuckass morons like you.

    • Bill Desmond permalink
      November 14, 2012 9:16 pm

      You seem to have convinced yourself of various fantasies and make believe- even more ludicrous than the biblical ones, and with no more proof than they. “obvious signs of past intelligence (sic) civilizations” and cfedible UFO sightings? Good lord, buddy- there are no credible sightings, no proof, and not one credible serious scientist- real scientist- in the world belives that there is. You need to move away from the screen for a bit.

      And is there some reason why you’re so angry?

  24. I bet the fucktard who wrote this also thinks the earth is flat permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:32 pm

    BTW I don’t apologize to any fucking dumbass who may be offended by what I wro6te. If you are fucking dumb enough to think we’re alone in the universe then you deserve every fucking insult I said about you. As a matter of fact the stuff I said is actually being way too nice to people as fucking stupid as the fucking stupid fucks who think we’re alone in the universe.

  25. I bet the fucktard who wrote this also thinks the earth is flat permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:35 pm

    BTW take a look at this article. Now this guy really knows what he’s talking about. He’s absolutely right on about how fucking stupid people who think we’re alone in the universe are. This guy is definitely one cool person indeed and very smart too.

    http://burakenk.blogspot.com/2009/04/for-people-who-think-we-are-alone.html

    Take a good fucking look at this picture. It’s a bit compressed so click on it to get a bigger view. I know some people are… well to be honest, fucking stupid, but fuck me if you think that we are alone in the universe you deserve a medal. See each dot on that huge picture? Yea that’s a star, just like ours that is sitting like 8 light minutes away. Exactly the same potato, it might be bigger or smaller but it’s the same deal.

    What you are looking at is 150.000 stars in our own galaxy, the milky way which is a tiny fraction of milky ways BILLIONS of stars. As we know there are eight planets orbiting our sun. Just think of the fucking odds of there being NOT A SINGLE FUCKING PLANET ORBITING ANY OF THOES STARS ON THAT PICTURE. Do you know what the odds of that is? Me neither but I bet my life that it’s fucking small. Considering that the picture only contains 150.000 stars and our own galaxy has billions makes my point even more valid. Is your mind boggled yet?

    Now take a look at THIS picture. Every dot of light there is a galaxy, each of them containing an additional of billions and billions of stars and where there is a star there might be a planet orbiting it. Feel stupid yet?

    Check THIS epic picture. What? More galaxies? What’s your point I get ya already! I hear you say. What’s so special about this picture that probably is one of my favorite one is that NASA pointed The Hubble telescope at an (what they thought) was a completely empty patch of the sky. They obviously already have a huge gallery of pictures of the universe so they said to themselfs “So many galaxies Robert… it seems endless” “I hear ya John, so many galaxies, billions of them and each of them containing billions of stars and shit” “But there HAS to be a place where it’s just complete darkness, like my sex life” “Yeah I suppose, there can’t be just endless amounts of galaxies can there?” So what did Robert and John do? They pointed Hubble telescope at what they thought was a complete empty and black patch of sky, they said “can’t be anythere there can it?” 12 days of exposure later Hubble sends them this exact picture “FUCK ME EVEN MORE GALAXIES WHAT THE HELL?” they yelled in unison. Again, tons of galaxies with zillions of stars.

    And people STILL think “No way man, no aliens brah”. Idiots. Now I’m not saying that there are aliens in soucers flying from galaxy to galaxy, that’s not what’s important. I am talking about LIFE full stop. Animals eating… whatevs they eat on their planet. Fish or birds etc, must be millions of planets filled with life. Just think of the odds of there not beeing any life? It’s next to impossible, as far as we know the universe is infinetily big.

    Go outside for a sec and hold a pen at arms length towards the sky. The tip of that pen is probably 1mm thick. That tip is covering over 10.000 galaxies… imagine that huh.

    The last picture is an epic one though. The Pale Blue Dot. What’s that? Let my old friend Carl Saga tell you.

    “That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every “superstar”, every “supreme leader”, every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there – on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.”

    Now YOU TELL ME where are the only mofos in the universe…

    Over and out.

  26. Fuck all you fucking stupid fuck retard faggots who think we're alone in the universe permalink
    March 22, 2011 12:16 am

    Funny how the asshole moron who wrote this ridiculous article also worships the obvious religious faggot fucktard Enrico fermi. I bet Enrico fermi, Peter Ward(one of the writers of the bullshit book Rare Earth none of which is ture), Donald Brownlee(the other author of the heaping pile of bullshit that is Rare Earth), Howard Smith(another creationist faggot fucktard who believes we’re alone in the universe) and the stupid faggot fucktard who wrote this article are imbred hermaphrodites that like to suck each others rotten pussies and drink the piss out of each other’s one nanometer cocks.

  27. Fuck all you fucking stupid fuck retard faggots who think we're alone in the universe permalink
    March 22, 2011 12:41 am

    Oh and here’s some proof that the rare earth is a bunch of bullshit. One example is what they say about our moon. Number 1 the earth would not be tidally locked without the moon. Mars has really tiny moons and Venus no moon at all and neither is tidally locked and furthermore real scientists those who’s minds are polluted with silly ridiculous ideas have shown that life could exist on a tidally locked planet anyways. plus planets with moons large in size to them are not rare. Pluto’s moon Charon is even larger compared to it then our moon is to our planet and they’ve discovered a new exoplanet with a large moon around it in anotehr star systme alreday. Yet more proof the Rare Earth hypothesis is complete and total bullshit. Also gas giants aren’t as important as the religious fucktards try and say either. It has actually been proven that gas planets can cause asteroids and comets to smash into the inner planets besides protecting them proving gas giants aren’t that important to an earthlike planet anyways and besides gas giants on the outer parts of solar systems are almost certainly not rare either we just don’t ahve powerful enough telescopes to detect them yet you stupid fucktard. Also the whole Mras lost it’s magnetic field billions of years ago due to it’s small size is bullshit. Mars latmosphere and magnetic field was destroyed by a huge asteroid that happened within a few million years(probably well less than a million years ago). thjey’ve found the evidence that Mars was hit by a giant asteroid and that wiped out past civiliation and killed off much of the life(though some lifeforms tsill exist just do some open minded research and look at the pictures things NASA tries hard to hide from us) and further more Mars atmosphere and magnetic field has actually been showing signs of coming back destroying the bullshit theory that it lost it’s magnetic field and atmosp[here to its small size which of course is what religious fucktards want to believe. Also teh moons of Saturn and Jupiter have been shown to ahve their own magnetic field and atmosphere all of which are smaller than Mars. So there faggot we’re not even alone in our very own solar system. Also look at the pictures of Phobos( it’s obvious a n alien spacebase is there and shot down a Russian probe look it up and the internet you stupid fuck) the pictures of our moon, the pictures of Saturn’s moon Titan, the crop circles on Jupiter’s moon Europa, Saturn’s moon Encaladus. Mercury, and hell they’ve even found evidence that there might be life on Venus. BTW Venus is not as hot as they’ve tried telling people. The real average temperature on Venus surface is about 110 degrees. The 800 900 degree temperature was taken in the hottest part of it’s atmosphere. Again do some fucking research you narrowminded fuckshit. Anyways there almost certainly are beings that could survive tempetaues of hundreds or even thousands of degrees or temperatures near absolute zero too. Why teh fuck do some narrowminded assholes assume a fucking planet has to be like earth. fuck there probably is life on gas planets and yes even intelligent life on gas planets and even stars too. Just ebcause we might not be able to survive those conditions doesn’t mean that nothing in the universe could or that everything has to be like erath for a planet to have life you narrow minded fuck. Of course I know none of this will sink in with you because you want so badly to believe that earth is some sort fo a special unique palnet which it is not and theat earth is meant to be the only palnet with life which is far from the truth and that you’ll ignore the obvious truth that life(and yes intelligent life) is common in our universe and that we are not even alone in our solar systme let alone the universe so that you don’t offend your bullshit religion and your imiginary non-existant god.

  28. the author of this bullshit story is probably a necrophilliac and a beastialitist permalink
    March 22, 2011 1:14 am

    I bet the faggot loser who wrote this bullshit story probably fucks Hitler’s dead corpse and sucks his mom’s dick and eats his dad’s pussy and has gay orgies with his buttbuddies Howard Smith, Peter Ward, Donald Brownlee, while having sex with Enrico Fermi’s dead corpse and fucking dead farm animals.. All the male members of his family probably have pussies and all his female relatives probably have dicks and I bet him and his whole family as well as Peter Ward, Donald Brownlee, and Howard Smith all fuck each other too and jack off to nude pictures of Adolf Hitler, Michael Jackson and Enrico Fermi while fucking theirdead corpses and having sex with dead farm animals.

  29. creationist fucktards suck permalink
    March 22, 2011 1:04 pm

    First, there’s less evidence for this kind of alien intelligence than there is for the Resurrection of Christ, Buddha’s enlightenment or Muhammad’s visitations from the angel Gabriel. Second, any such beings would, as far as humanity is concerned, be indistinguishable from gods.

    It seems to me we are probably alone in the universe, life on earth a pure accident unrepeated elsewhere. Until we have concrete evidence otherwise, I strongly suggest we behave as though this is true. Right now, we’re using up the planet like we can just toss it away and move on to another one.

    Spoken like a true creationist fucktard. Face the facts and get over it and just admit that everything you creationists say has been proven to be complete bullshit. there is nothing special or unique at all about the earth and life on it was no accident at all. The only accident is the fact that stupid fucktards like you exist which we would be better off without.

  30. kayne moore permalink
    July 22, 2011 4:44 pm

    what if some aliens are pissed for some reason and they attack us then what would we do???????????????????????????????????????

  31. Jimmy McDouh permalink
    June 22, 2012 6:36 pm

    Who is to say that an alien race which has been in existence for millions of years, would not have learned to set aside pety differences and work together? Why would they only apply this to their own world, instead of having the mindset of universal partnerships? Also, my argument against the Fermi Paradox is the Zoo Hypothesis. It says that highly developed alien races are aware of our existence. However, they have purposely left us alone to let our natural evolution and development take place. I strongly believe there is life elsewhere, the problem is convincing others.

  32. Bill Desmond permalink
    November 14, 2012 6:31 pm

    Life in the known universe, of trillions of galxies and trillions of trillions of stars? Perhaps.
    Intelligent life, conscious and aware of itself, its environment, tool using, language, writing, technology, science, and all the rest? Given the odds, even with the numbers of possible planets, its not plausible. A billion years ago, or a billion years from now, somewhere out there? Possible. But again, not plausible.
    Life on earth exists in an incredibly fortunate circumstance- the right sun, the right distance, an iron core, moderated temperatures, protection from cosmic rays, a moon to keep it all in balance, liquid water, relatively stable conditions over millions of years, and on and on.
    But the bottom line is more likely that given the unfathomable distances and time, we will most likely never know. For all practical purposes, we are truly alone. There is no one, or no thing, or god coming to save us from ourselves. And given our track record of our treatment of so called ‘lower’ species, thats probably a good thing. We shouldn’t be advertising our whereabouts, but rather be hoping no one is looking for “game”.

    So we must solve our own problems, and treat this planet- our home- as the only one, more unique than we can imagine, and the life on it as precious and the most rare thing in the entire universe.

  33. Ben permalink
    March 28, 2015 9:51 pm

    Faith, religion nothing but an idea to cushion and control.Every bible , or religious text ever written was manufacturerd by man. Why would God in his infinite wisdom create 1 species ? Surely he can multi task As to handle more than 1 species. What kind of experiment is he running ? Humans where flawed in there creation. Why would your end product be so destructive ? Don’t dare give me that crap about freedom of choice. or to make the rest of the humans see how fortunate we are. Why should we fear God ? Why should we fear our father ? Why should we praise an worship a God who seems to be a bit vain and Vengeful. That doesn’t seem to be the traits you would find in a diety. Definitely human characteristics but below of what you would expect from a God. I’m God so I don’ t have to prove that I exist. That’s a tad convenient don’t you think ? I can go on with this argument but let’s try this instead I believe in God but he did not just make humans. I do believe he created man an numerous other species and Pooka dotted the cosmos with his idea of creatcreations.God intended for all his creations to find each other over time when they all have the knowledge to deal with each other. At this Time planet earth is no were near ready for that meeting.

  34. will permalink
    May 31, 2016 10:41 pm

    even if we are alone in our Galaxy, we surely are not the only ‘intelligent’ life in the Universe

  35. matt permalink
    July 4, 2016 2:15 am

    lol 12 560 000 000 000 is the ESTIMATED ammount of planets in the universe you sit there on ur high horse thinking we ar ethe only intelligent life…. utter stupidity

Leave a Reply

